Friday, December 17, 2010

I found Prince Charming...

I found Prince Charming and he is not the typical dashing debonair or the man riding up on a white horse. This man, yes, has done great things and continues... He will forever be successful.

I don't know why I have never really noticed him before. I always have known about him and his continued love for me. It's weird, I thought I had always loved him so much, but I guess it never really clicked DEEPLY. Well, I am sure you might have figured it out. But it's GOD!!!!!!

Maybe it wasn't a big surprise to everyone. ha. Have you really ever thought about it? This post really goes out to those, like myself, that are single and kinda feel like your prince charming got hit by a bus on the way to you! I'm not saying that I always feel like that, but its true, sometimes I do. Don't get me wrong, this is not a post so that maybe, one day, someone will read this and come sweep my off my feet (all said in a dramatic tone) *sigh*. If they do... That would awesome, but it's okay I understand it probably won't happen. ANYWAY, back to the real reason for this post.

My/ Our prince charming has been there all along. Think about it..........
1. He seeks you out (Ps. 119:58). Now come on who doesn't want a man that is pursuing them?
2. He calls you everyday... Although we might not always hear it, and sometimes we might think its a little clingy, but that is just how he is... He wants you to respond and he will not give up till you do.
3. He gives you gifts (blessings) When have you asked for something from him and he not give it to you, or he not give you something that you deserve?
4. He knows you better than yourself. Scary? Pretty cool, you really don't need to talk much about yourself.. he ultimately knows you anyway. But its a good conversation keeper!
I mean I could go on and on about the things he does to want to be with us. The ultimate thing he has every done... HE GAVE UP HIS SON!  I know that maybe you shouldn't be getting into a relationship with someone with children already ( a little to much dirty laundry if you ask me) but with him it is worth it! He gave up his one and only son for OUR FAULTS! Did you get that? OUR FAULTS! Since we are foolish and God loves us so MUCH and wants to have a relationship with us that he gave up his son!  Talk about making sacrifices. Sheesh, I'm blown away! He's won my heart with just giving me gifts, :)

It is so much deeper than that. He just wants to talk with us, so that we can know him! So we can know what his likes and dislikes are. What he might want for his birthday? Or how we can make him happy? He doesn't ask for much just our attention so that we can have a relationship with him. It isn't much, it takes time like any relationship. But it is worth it in the end! The reward is so great... spending eternity with your Ultimate Prince Charming!

Now, I think, that if we work on our relationship with Him. He will send us the true (earthly) mate for our lives. It just takes time and patience. Since you are waiting.. why not spend time with God?!


Love God, Love People.

Monday, December 6, 2010

Finale......

Finals week once again......
I've never seen the library more packed out more in my life than this week. It is hilarious to me that it is only this week that everyone feels the need to be in the library. I'm pretty sure that there are some people that straight camp out in here during this week.
For once in my college semester I am not completely freaking out about this week. Ha! I've realized that I have to just take it one test at a time and study my brains out ... then.... move on to the next one.

Anyway on to something a little more serious. While in Charlotte this past weekend, I went to church with Jon and Amy. I thoroughly enjoyed the service because it was something so real that everyone should hear. How I interpreted it was that everyone, including myself, has been blinded by the real happenings of christmas. That we get so caught up in buying the biggest and best gifts that the real reason we should be celebrating Christmas is the birth of Christ. As I was sitting in the service, I kept thinking of how I just the other day I was trying to figure out how great of a gift I could get my family and friends. I mean I thoroughly enjoy giving gifts (and honestly getting gifts) but I think it is so awesome to see someone's face when opening a present that I was able to buy for them. But what if this year I did not get a single gift for anyone? (Don't worry friends and family, I still bought ya'll presents) But what if I did that... you know how upset a lot of people would be. You know that you would be so upset if you did not receive a single gift, but at that exact moment we should be realizing that it is about the presents. It is about the present moment. The time that we have to be able to spend with our families. I think some times that Christmas should be about the memories instead of the gifts, because in all reality... The gifts will eventually get broken,lost, stolen, and pretty much anything could happen to those gifts. But memories are life long. Like take this memory.... my nephew for the first time saw santa and took a train ride this Christmas. He might not remember it, but I for sure will. Be absolutely loved it.... he got to talk to a Jolly old man in a big red suit who gave him a candy cane, which got all over his face. Its moments like that that will last a life time.

So I will pass on the challenge to you that was given to me this past sunday...... How about spending less this year and realizing the real moments of Christmas?


Love God, Love people